PCAA Foundation

Electoral Conduct Inquiry: Call For Papers

The chair of the APPG Against Antisemitism, John Mann MP has commissioned a Parliamentary Inquiry into Electoral Conduct. The purpose of the inquiry is to investigate and evaluate the effectives of existing lines of responsibility and accountability in managing elections and, specifically, charges of misconduct during elections with a particular focus on racism and discrimination. The Terms of reference are as follows:

1. To inquire into the culture, practices and malpractices exhibited during election campaigns by electoral candidates and others with a particular focus on discriminatory behaviour.

2. To review whether the current law, regulations, political party and agency measures relating to electoral conduct are appropriate, well-co-ordinated or require amendment and to make recommendations accordingly.

3. To uncover what models of good practice exist for assessing and addressing accusations of discriminatory behaviour during elections.

4. To make recommendations, rooted in best practice where possible, for cross-party frameworks to prevent and address accusations of discriminatory conduct.

Natascha Engel MP, chair of the Backbench Business Committee will chair the inquiry and is joined by 11 other Parliamentarians*.

Whilst it has been commissioned by the Chairman of All-Party Parliamentary Group on Antisemitism, the focus as outlined above, will be broader than antisemitism alone.

The Inquiry is seeking written submissions of no more than 2,000 words from interested parties, before taking oral evidence.  Organisations and individuals wishing to make written submissions are invited to do so by 29 March 2013.  Each submission should include the name and postal address of the individual or organisation and state whether it has been prepared specifically for the Inquiry.  Where submitted by an organisation rather than an individual, the submission should briefly explain the nature and membership of the organisation.  Oral evidence will be taken in Parliament, beginning in May 2013.  A report is expected to be published in the summer.

Submissions should be sent to the Clerk of the Inquiry on dstone@parliament.uk. If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word by email. The formal call for papers, which details other methods of submission is available by clicking here, guiding questions for submissions are available here and a press release here.

*The members of the inquiry are: Stuart Andrew MP, Lord John Alderdice, Lord Jeremy Beecham, Angie Bray MP (Vice-Chair), David Burrowes MP, Lilian Greenwood MP, Rt Hon David Lammy MP, Naomi Long MP, Seema Malhotra MP, Andrew Stunell OBE MP, Dr. Eilidh Whiteford MP

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.